For the which cause I also suffer these things: nevertheless I am not ashamed: for I know whom I have believed, and am persuaded that he is able to keep that which I have committed unto him against that day.

2 Timothy 1:12

Tune: EL NATHAN C.M. Ref.

Music: James McGranahan, 1883

Text: Daniel W. Whittle, 1883

After more research, I found an extra verse that is not often listed:

I know not what of good or ill

May be reserved for me.

Of weary ways or golden days

Before His face I see.

This verse just struck me like a thunderbolt! So many people ask why good things happen to bad people. Really, though, what does it matter as long as you do your best to let things mold you into a more loving ambassador of Jesus? If the fires of your life refine you into a beautiful Christian example, they were worth it! I am going to take this verse as a personal reminder to knuckle down and do a better job at being the kind of person Jesus wants me to be. ♥

Lyrics sheet:

I Know Not Why God’s Wondrous Grace

Free, easy-to-read music:

I Know Not Why God’s Wondrous Grace

Sing along by clicking on the link below:

I Know Not How God’s Wondrous Grace

