He is despised and rejected of men; a man of sorrows, and acquainted with grief: and we hid as it were our faces from him; he was despised, and we esteemed him not.

Surely he hath borne our griefs, and carried our sorrows: yet we did esteem him stricken, smitten of God, and afflicted.

But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed.

Isaiah 53:3-5

Text: Isaac Watts, 1707

I found 4 different tunes for this hymn and each of them fit the words well in their own way. After playing them through, I couldn’t pick a clear favourite! Can you? 

Lyrics sheet:

Alas! And Did My Savior Bleed? – HUDSON

Alas! And Did My Savior Bleed? – MARTYRDOM

Alas! And Did My Savior Bleed? – HULL

Alas! And Did My Savior Bleed? – O HOW I LOVE JESUS

 

Free, easy-to-read music:

Alas! And Did My Savior Bleed? – HUDSON

Alas! And Did My Savior Bleed? – MARTYRDOM

Alas! And Did My Savior Bleed? – HULL

Alas! And Did My Savior Bleed? – O HOW I LOVE JESUS

 

Sing along by clicking on the link below:

Alas! And Did My Savior Bleed? – HUDSON

Alas! And Did My Savior Bleed? – MARTYRDOM

Alas! And Did My Savior Bleed? – HULL

Alas! And Did My Savior Bleed? – O HOW I LOVE JESUS

