Blessed be the Lord, who daily loadeth us with benefits.

Psalm 68:19

Tune: NETTLETON 8 7 8 7 D.

Music: Traditional American Melody from John Wyeth’s Repository of Sacred Music, 1813

Text: Robert Robinson, 1758

At one time, Amy Shreve was a Miss America contestant. In my mind, I see her clearly – she was a willowy, beautiful blonde with a tremendous talent for singing and accompanying herself on an electric harp. While promoting herself, she toured the little area I grew up in, giving concerts in churches and selling her recordings, one of which was called Peace In The Puzzle.

Amy played Come Thou Fount Of Every Blessing and while I had never heard it before (despite it being in our hymnal), it really struck a chord with me – no pun intended. The song immediately became my favourite hymn and I play it often. 

Thanks for introducing me to such a timeless classic, Amy! 

Oh – and Yep, it’s a little fast, but when I thought about it, it works. When we cry for help, we aren’t looking for succor to arrive in its own unhurried, good time – we want the knight in shining armour riding a very fast white steed, right? I know we cannot rush God, but it doesn’t quell the urgency with which we call! 

Lyrics sheet:

Come Thou Fount Of Every Blessing

Free, easy-to-read music:

Come Thou Fount Of Every Blessing

Sing along by clicking on the link below:

Come Thou Fount Of Every Blessing

